Tags

, , , ,

To celebrate the upcoming holiday, I would like to share a top ten list of my favorite things about Christmas. Look at my list and compare it with your own. Let me know what you feel I’ve left off! One lucky commenter who shares their holiday favorite will win an ebook copy of Saving Santa, my Christmas release through Evernight Publishing. So…enjoy! And Merry Christmas!

  1. Watching my son open his Christmas gifts – My son Marshall is newly four. This year is going to be the year to beat all others thus far. He has gotten very into the spirit of Christmas and cannot wait! He is constantly asking me, “Can we wrap gifts? Can we wrap gifts?” He feels so privileged to be in on the secret of what his uncles and grandparents are getting. He is going to make this year unbelievably fun.
  2. Holiday Specials – Nothing puts me in the Christmas spirit like watching the classics. Rudolph, Frosty, the Grinch. These were magical as a child and still give me that flutter of excitement in my chest.
  3. Cookies! – Need I say more?
  4. Online shopping – I just love shopping online for Christmas gifts. It makes things easy, fun, and convenient. The past few years, I’ve helped my father do all his shopping online, and it’s an enjoyable time for us. We’ll get lunch then hunker down for some hardcore shopping!
  5. Christmas Songs – These have close to the same effect as watching the television specials. They’ve been especially fun this year, because they get my son all amped up and ready. Though his mom might not be the best singer, he delights in listening to me belt out tunes about Santa and snow.
  6. Eating Breakfast In Front of A Lit Tree – This has been a favorite of mine since I was in junior high school. I would get up and eat my breakfast at the table with nothing but the lights from the tree to light the room. It is an amazing experience that really gets the excitement for Christmas burning.
  7. Reading Christmas Stories With My Son – The one time of the year I don’t mind reading the same books over and over and over… The stories are more fun as my son is really starting to comprehend them this year. He’s very concerned about the Grinch coming and stealing our tree. “Why is he so mean?”
  8. Decorating – What could be more fun than pulling out all the Christmas decorations and stringing them about the house?
  9. The Extra Time With My Husband – With the holidays comes a few extra days off for the man of the house. It’s nice to get to spend this time with him. He always takes the day after Christmas off, and we help our son open and test out all his new toys. It’s quality family time.
  10. Giving Gifts – I love giving gifts. It’s a nice way to let those close to you know you appreciate the things they do for you every other day of the year.

 

Now please, give me some of your favorites as well! 

And if you want a good romantic read to get you into the holiday spirit, here is an excerpt from my Christmas story, Saving Santa.

 

As I walked further into the room, I gave a squeal of surprised delight as I realized we were trekking through a workshop. Elves sat at long tables, busily crafting toys and painting make-up onto porcelain dolls. They all fell silent as I passed, their eyes lifting from their work as they examined me.

“Holy crap!” I squeaked. “This is it! This is Santa’s workshop! It’s real!” I spun around, taking in the merry atmosphere, the cups of steaming cocoa, the mistletoe in the doorways. It was all real.

Emma was giggling at my awe when suddenly she skidded to a halt, giving a gasp of surprise. “He’s here!”

Bernie’s eyebrows shot up expressively, yet he remained silent.

“Who’s here?” I spun to face the direction Emma was looking just in time to see a man turn to face me as well. My heart stopped in my chest, and it took every ounce of self-control to keep from slipping to the floor because my legs had turned to jelly.

Across the room stood the most drop dead gorgeous man I’d ever seen in my life. After a quick perusal, I started at his head and slowly worked my way down.

He had short blond hair, which he wore in spiked points. Jade green eyes complimented a handsome face whose light blond five o’clock shadow did nothing to hide dimples that had my knees trembling.

He wore a black t-shirt so tight I could see the outline of each abdomen muscle as he moved. A pair of faded jeans and black high-tops rounded off an outfit that in no way belonged in Santa’s workshop. “Who’s he?” I asked in wonder.

Emma didn’t get a chance to answer before the man was moving toward us at a brisk pace. It was impossible to ignore the displeased expression that dominated his face or the glare of his green eyes. “Emma!” he boomed in warning.

“Your mother thought it was a wise idea,” the little elf started, but he interrupted her.

“This is none of my mother’s business.” He turned to me with a look of disgust. “You aren’t welcome here. Get back on that jet and go back to whatever hell you came from.”

I took a subconscious step back at the man’s hostility and blinked up at him in shock. He was a good six foot four, handsome, and rude as can be. “I…I…”

“Don’t be mean to Cara,” Emma defended with a glare of her own. “Give her a chance. I have a feeling the two of you will get along swimmingly.”

“Who told you that?” the man asked with a snort, “Cupid?”

“As a matter of fact—”

“Tell Cupid to mind his own damn business. I don’t need a Mrs. Claus. I am running this place just fine on my own. Requiring a Mrs. Claus is an outdated tradition, and you all know it.”

His words drew a gasp from my throat. “Wait. You’re Chris?”

His fiery gaze swept back to me. “Yes. Chris. Chris Kringle. Laugh, and I’ll toss you out in the snow and lock the doors.” He returned his anger to Emma. “Get rid of her. I want her out of my home before dinner tonight.”

Taking offense at the massive attitude I was receiving from Santa Claus, I snapped, “I’m not a dog.”

“No,” he said scornfully. “You’re a woman who would drop her entire life to marry a man she doesn’t know for a chance at immortality. If you think I’d marry someone that shallow, you’re an idiot.”

Those angry eyes swept back to Emma. “Get rid of her. Now.” With that, he turned his back and strode away.

Buy Link:

Amazon

 My Website:

